be_ixf;ym_202205 d_23; ct_100
King of the Whip - South Africa


Feb 262018

SA's top Motocross and Freestyle Motocross riders gathered to compete head-to-head for the 2018 King of the Whip title at Bikers Warehouse over the weekend. Presented by LW Mag and Monster Energy in association with PlayStation, Motul, Dunlop Tyres, EVS and Just1. Through four qualifying rounds, riders had a short window to demonstrate their best whips for the judges and fans.

The judges had their work cut out for them though, taking on the hard task of eliminating the large field of riders into a 13 man semi-final, judged on style, amplitude and variation. 

Monster Energy FMX athlete Alastair Sayer, the reigning champ in 2017 came to defend his throne but this closely fought battle didn't go the way that he planned this year. The Masters of Dirt legend wasn't just in it for the whip off though. He showed the fans why he's known as "The Jakalas" and threw his big bag of tricks into the mix, sending massive heel clicker flips and some double grab variations for good measure.


David Goosen also rose to the occasion this year and decided he was also keen to get sideways with the boys. The MX rider, known for pinning it on the track usually, held his own against the FMX crew and brought some really massive and stylish whips to the playing field.


As the sun set and the lights came out, the semi-finalists took to the course. 

This was the last chance to throw down their best whips before possibly facing elimination. The riders put on an insane 15 minute display of the biggest whips seen on SA soil, covering a host of different styles and variations hoping they'd impress the judges enough to crack the six man final.


Alastair Sayer (FMX), Caleb Tennant (MX), Camz Odendaal (MX), Dallan Goldman (FMX), Grant Frerichs (MX) and Neels van Niekerk (MX) secured their spots in the final. Now it was down to the last few runs as each rider was only given five jumps to affirm their position as the new king.


Each brought their own style and variation of whip which made for an extremely close final. However, it was Dallan Goldman who upped his game, putting it all on the line to clinch the crown and title of ‘King of the Whip’ 2018, claiming the R20 000 cash prize. Event first timer Grant Frerichs followed in 2nd with 2017 KOTW champ Alastair Sayer rounding out the podium, finishing in 3rd.

Closing out King of the Whip 2018, bigger and better is an understatement as all expectations were exceeded. Huge props go out to LW Mag for putting together an event that breathes life into the local MX & FMX scene. This event was for the riders! Check out the highlights video below...