be_ixf;ym_202206 d_30; ct_100
Monster sponsored MMA Tournament Oktagon 27 taking place in Bratislava, Slovakia

Oktagon 27: Ivan Buki Buchinger became a two-time champion

Sep 202021

No more waiting for Slovak MMA fans. After many months, the Oktagon tournament has returned to their homeland. And there was a lot to look at! Ondrej Nepela Stadium hosted Oktagon 27 on September 11 with the title match between Ivan Buchinger and his compatriot Vojta Barborík. Buchinger defeated Barborík by decision in a very hard and attractive five rounds match and won the champion's belt in the featherweight category. He thus became the first fighter to have two Octagon belts at the same time. He has been a lightweight champion since January.

After Buki‘s victory, many agreed that it was the best match in the history of the Oktagon, along with this year's welter weight title match between David Kozma and Leandro Apollo Silva. But the card of the Bratislava tournament definitely had something to watch throughout the whole evening.

The main pre-match of the tournament between Máté Kertész from Hungary and Robert Pukač from Bratislava seemed relatively balanced for three whole rounds and the domestic fighter tormented the Hungarian several times, but Máté was a bit more active and eventually won by decision 3:0 on points. He thus claimed third victory in a row and again attacks the top of the ranking in his weight category. Another Slovak star Gábor Boráros, did not get too many chances in the fight with the French UFC veteran Mickael Lebout and scored his third loss in a row. Quick 1st round K.O.s were scored by local Vlasto Čepo and Bojan Veličkovič from Serbia. Čepo defeated the Serb Miloš Kostiš, Velikovič defeated the Brazilian Carl Prater.


All results are here:



Ivan Buchinger – Vojto Barborík, decision

Máté Kertesz – Robert Pukač, decision

Gábor Boraros – Michael Lebout, decision

Bojan Veličkovič – Carlo Prater, TKO, 1. round

Vlasto Čepo – Milos Kostic, TKO, 1. round



František Fodor – Matouš Kohout  Cancelled

Jonas Magard – Elnur Veliev, Submision, 2. round

Roman Paulus – Szymon Rakowicz, decision 3. round

Michal Plesník – Matej Šurin, decision 3. round

Štefan Vojčák – Evgeniy Golub, TKO, 1. round