be_ixf;ym_202208 d_10; ct_100
Images from the 2022 Czech Speedway Grand Prix

Tai breathes life into SGP title charge

May 312022

Form is temporary, class is most definitely permanent. 

Tai Woffinden proved the old adage to be true once again with a vintage performance in the third FIM Speedway Grand Prix round of the ’22 season, reigniting his title charge in Prague and firing a warning shot to his rivals.

The triple world champ headed to the Czech Republic needing a big result and he delivered, top-scoring in the qualifying heats and going on to finish second in the event behind Slovakian veteran Martin Vaculik.

Woffy is looking to keep pace with current championship top two Bartek Zmarzlik and Maciej Janowski - who are separated by just a point - and after three rounds he sits 12 points back in fifth place. He knows that he still has some work to do, but is pleased to rack up another podium finish.


“It was much better tonight, I felt good on the bike and my engines were fast. I have had some good results here in the past and I know I can score a lot of points here so it was nice to get it done and take home 18 points,” he said.


“It’s not been the start to the season I wanted but we’ve been working so hard behind the scenes and it feels like we’re turning the corner now. There’s still a long way to go in the season, I just need to make sure I’m up in that top group towards the end and then we’ll see.”


“Now I’ve got to go to Germany next weekend and do the same, just rack up the points and see where I end up.”


Prague was also a happy hunting ground for another British racer, with Dan Bewley taking P6 and bringing home his best SGP result to date. Jack Holder showed some promise to take P10, Freddie Lindgren P11, Patryk Dudek one behind in 12th and Pawel Przedpelski had a tough night to take P15.

The next round takes place in just a few days time in Teterow, Germany with more points up for grabs in round four.


1 Bartosz Zmarzlik 42, 2 Maciej Janowski 41, 3 Leon Madsen 40, 4 Mikkel Michelsen 33, 5 Tai Woffinden 32, 6 Jason Doyle 31, 7 Max Fricke 30, 8 Fredrik Lindgren 30, 9 Martin Vaculik 29, 10 Anders Thomsen 24, 11 Robert Lambert 22, 12 Dan Bewley 20, 13 Jack Holder 17, 14 Patryk Dudek 15, 15 Pawel Przedpelski 12.

1 Martin Vaculik 20, 2 Tai Woffinden 18, 3 Jason Doyle 16, 4 Maciej Janowski 14, 5 Bartosz Zmarzlik 12, 6 Dan Bewley 11, 7 Leon Madsen 10, 8 Anders Thomsen 9, 9 Max Fricke 8, 10 Jack Holder 7, 11 Freddie Lindgren 6, 12 Patryk Dudek 5, 13 Robert Lambert 4, 14 Mikkel Michelsen 3, 15 Pawel Przedpelski 2, 16 Jan Kvech 1