be_ixf;ym_202303 d_22; ct_100
Results and photos from round 12 of the Pro Motocross Championship, the series finale at Fox Raceway in Pala, California.

2022 Lucas Oil AMA Pro Motocross Championship Results

Sep 072022

The closest premier class competition in the 50-year history of the Lucas Oil AMA Pro Motocross Championship had a decided bright green hue to it as Monster Energy racers Eli Tomac (Star Racing/Yamaha), Chase Sexton (Honda) and Jason Anderson (Kawasaki) flat out dominated the premier 450 class podiums over 12 rounds of outdoor motocross racing this summer.

Of the 36 possible 450 class podium places this summer, Monster Energy racers owned 29 of them. That’s more than an 80-percent podium rate for Monster Energy-backed 450 racers.


Here are some quick numbers on the MX Nationals’ 450 class and Monster Energy-backed racers…

·       Monster Energy racers won 11 of the 12 overalls (Tomac/5, Sexton/3 and Anderson/3).

·       Monster Energy racers scored 11 runner-up finishes (Sexton/7, Tomac/4).

·       Monster Energy racers swept four 1st/2nd/3rd podium finishes (Hangtown, Millville, Washougal, and Fox II).

·       Monster Energy racers finished 1st/2nd/3rd in the overall standings (Tomac 1st, Sexton 2nd, Anderson 3rd).

·       Christian Craig (Monster Energy/Star Racing/Yamaha would place 5th overall in the standings, giving Monster Energy not only the 1st/2nd/3rd sweep, but also four racers in the top five overall.

·       Monster Energy enjoyed five racers in the overall 450 class’ top ten.


Noteworthy: So dominant were the three aforementioned Monster Energy-backed 450 class racers that a combination of two or all three of them were on the podium in 11 of 12 races. And that 12th race, there were still two Monster Energy racers on the podium when Craig joined race winner Sexton on the podium at the Fox Raceway opener. So in other words, there were at least two Monster Energy-backed racers on every MX Nationals 450 podium this year!

In 250 class racing, Monster Energy featured at least one racer on the podium in all 12 of 12 rounds.

·       Jo Shimoda (Monster Energy/Pro Circuit/Kawasaki) led all 250 racers with nine podiums.

·       Monster Energy racers scored two 250 class victories on the season, both by Shimoda.

·       Monster Energy scored double racers on the podium in three races – Southwick, Unadilla and Fox Raceway II – all Shimoda and Justin Cooper (Star Racing/Yamaha).

·       All totaled, Monster Energy 250 class racers scored 15 podiums during the season.

·       Shimoda led all Monster Energy-backed 250 racers in placing 2nd overall in the 250 series.

·       Monster Energy enjoyed five racers in the overall 250 class’ top ten.


Overall 2022 Lucas Oil AMA Pro Motocross Championship, presented by Monster Energy, Points (Round 12 of 12)


450 class

1st – Tomac

2nd – Sexton

3rd – Anderson

5th – Craig

9th - Savatgy


250 class

2nd - Shimoda

4th – Cooper

7th – Hammaker

8th – Thrasher

10th – Kitchen